All Feature Articles

Michael McDonald To Deliver His "Season of Peace" to the Mother Church

by Rich and Laura Lynch

Singer/songwriter and five-time Grammy Award winner Michael McDonald's new holiday compilation, Season of Peace: The Christmas Collection, is out now via BMG. The album features McDonald's most beloved Christmas recordings including "White Christmas/Winter Wonderland" (feat. Jonny Lang), "Oh Holy Night," "Christmas on the Bayou" and "Children Go Where I Send Thee" (feat. Twinkie Clark), as well as a new version of "Winter Wonderland" featuring special guest Jake Shimabukuro. The album art hails from an original painting by McDonald himself; see below for a complete track list.

McDonald will tour North America throughout the winter, playing select songs from Season of Peace and much more, beginning November 21 at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium. Before kicking off the holiday shows, McDonald is performing hits from throughout his storied career, as well as some of his favorite covers and selections from his most recent critically acclaimed album Wide Open (out now via BMG).

McDonald's most recent release Wide Open continues to receive extensive critical praise from the Los Angeles Times, NPR Music, Pitchfork, Rolling Stone and many more:

"Wide Open sets McDonald's gruff but heartfelt vocals-and his thoughts on romance and human nature-against arrangements that pull expertly from R&B, country and gospel. 'Does the sound of my voice still carry any kind of message?' he asks an old lover in 'Hail Mary,' and this excellent record argues that it does." - Los Angeles Times

"There's a profound sense of hindsight to Wide Open that moves with a tenderness that comes from age and newfound wonderment, even if McDonald's voice hasn't aged a day." - NPR First Listen

"Wide Open may be the album that makes the kids call their folks and say, 'Hey, have you heard of this new artist, Michael McDonald?'"- NPR Music

"an urbane R&B labor of love" - Pitchfork

"McDonald's voice remains exceptional, a throaty bray-unyielding in the middle, shredded around the edges-that's still capable of overpowering even a muscular band." -Rolling Stone "Michael McDonald is having a renaissance." - Rolling Stone Hot Issue (November 16, 2017)

"as diverse an album as McDonald has ever made" - Billboard

Season of Peace: The Christmas Collection:
1. That's What Christmas Means To Me
2. White Christmas/Winter Wonderland (feat. Jonny Lang)
3. Children Go Where I Send Thee (feat. Twinkie Clark)
4. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
5. Wexford Carol (feat. Amy Holland)
6. Christmas On The Bayou
7. To Make A Miracle
8. Peace
9. Through the Many Winters
10. Every Time Christmas Comes Around
11. On Christmas Morning
12. World Out Of A Dream
13. Oh Holy Night
14. Winter Wonderland (feat. Jake Shimabukuro)
15. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

Related Links: For more information on MICHAEL MCDONALD and the other organizations mentioned please visit the following links -- Michael McDonald | Ryman Auditorium


© 2021
All Rights Reserved